How to Manage Permissions
- Go to People > Manage Users (or Browse Employees or Browse Clients)
- Browse or search for your user. Click the user or the Manage icon on the right, to open the user profile.
- Modify permissions as needed, then Save.
Default Employee Permissions
When creating a new employee, the following permissions are granted by default. You can modify these settings during the user creation process.
Note: A grayed setting indicates a permission that the creating user does not have access to or is not permitted to give to others – therefore, they cannot grant that permission to another user.
- Date Created
- Email Address
- First Name & Last Name
- Company name.
Modify the user’s default Notification Frequency settings.
Default Email Language
Modify the user’s default Email Notification Language.
You may select a maximum monthly bandwidth allowance for the employee. This limit will prevent the employee from personally uploading and downloading more data than you allow them. It will also apply to all of their folders, so that they may not share files with others more than you would like for them to.
Note: Employee bandwidth limits can also affect clients that the employee works with by limiting how much they may download from the employee’s folders. This is used by some accounts where employee use may need to be limited to prevent bandwidth overages.
Whether the customer is utilizing ShareFile Credentials or Two-Step Verification.
Change their password
If a user may change their password, they can use the ‘Forgot Password’ link on the login screen if they ever forget the password. If this is not marked, they will need to contact an employee who can manage employee permissions for help logging in.
Access Personal Settings
In personal settings, a user can manage their name, company name, and avatar. They will be able to update or change their password on this page if they have the permission to change their password.
Files and Folders
Use personal File Box
The File Box is a personal storage space where employees may store files for a limited period of time. This space is not generally a collaborative or shared space, although some users may be given access to see other employee’s File Boxes. If you do choose to take away a user’s access to the File Box, they will not be able to use any email plugin tool or add files from their computer when creating a Share message or Link.
Be added to file drops
This will only be available if File Drop is enabled on your account. This will allow users who create new file drops to list this employee as a contact that clients may select to send files to through a form.
This will allow the employee to see the People tab in the navigation bar and to add new users to the account. They will also be able to edit settings for any clients that they create.
Note: Editing a client user’s email address requires the Manage Employees permission.
Edit the shared address book
The Shared Address Book is available to employee users on the account so that they may quickly and easily pull up contact information for users on the account. If this is checked, the employee will be able to add users to the Shared Address Book to allow others to see their contacts on the system.
Share distribution groups
If this permission is enabled, the employee user will be able to create a Shared Distribution group.
Edit other users’ shared distribution groups
When setting up a new Distribution Group, users will have the option to share the group with all employees. If this permission is enabled, the employee user will be able to add more users to a group that has been created on the system and shared with others.
Company Account Info
Edit account appearance
Allow the user to configure account branding and appearance settings.
View receipts and billing notifications
The Receipts & Billing Notifications link in the Admin Settings > Billing section will allow any user with this permission enabled to download copies of any receipt or invoice for the account.
*You may or may not see the below settings on your user page. These settings will display only if you have the feature enabled on your plan type.
Create Network Share Connectors
This permission grants the user the ability to create and manage new Network Share-type Connectors. This permission is only available to ShareFile users on select plans.
Create SharePoint Connectors
This permission grants the user the ability to create and manage new Sharepoint-type Connectors. This permission is only available to ShareFile users on select plans.
Select StorageZone for root-level folders
In order to change another user’s default storage location, membership to the Super User Group is required. This permission is only available to ShareFile users on select plans.