Change ShareFile Employee to Client

Downgrade Employee to Client

Requirements

  • Employee user with the allow this user to manage employee users permission.
  • If Strict employee licensing is enabled, any employees with @domain.com will not be able to be downgraded to a client user.

Utilize the following steps to downgrade an employee user (internal user) to a client user (external user).

NOTE: Feature does not appear for an Employee user with a company email domain to enforce licensing.

  1. People > Browse Employees
  2. Browse or search for your user, then access the Manage icon located to the right of the user’s name and email address:
  3. In the Actions menu on the right side, select the option for Downgrade to client.
IMPORTANT – Downgrading an employee to a client removes their access to the File Box and the My Files & Folders section of their account.
  1. Reassign the user’s files to another employee user on the account, if necessary. If you do not reassign, these files cannot be recovered.
  2. Click Remove Employee.
  3. Following this change, the newly designated client user will retain the same folder access as before.


Upgrade Client to Employee

Requirements

  • Employee user with the allow this user to manage employee users and allow this user to manage client users permissions

To upgrade a client user (external user) to an employee user (internal user):

  1. People > Manage Users
  2. Browse or search for your user, then access the Manage icon located to the right of the user’s name and email address:
  3. In the Actions menu on the right side, select Upgrade to Employee as shown below.
  4. You will be given the opportunity to customize the user’s basic information and permissions before saving him or her as a new employee user.

Related:

  • No Related Posts

Leave a Reply