The File Retention Policy determines how long files are retained in a specific folder. You can set a default file retention policy for all newly created folders if you are an administrator for the account. To set a policy, click into the root level folder you would like to set the policy on. You have the option to have files deleted 1 day, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days, 60 days, 90 days, 6 months, 1 year or 2 years after they are uploaded.
This applies to all files in the root level folder, as well as all files within the subfolders.
Account-wide default settings can be configured by an account Admin in the Advanced Preferences menu. When changing the account-wide setting, the new setting will only apply to newly created folders and not previous folders in your account.
Retention Policy FAQ
Will I be notified before my policy deletes my files?
Before files or folders are removed, a warning message is shown in the following locations:
If you set both a folder expiration date and a file retention policy, the most restrictive policy will take effect.
For example, if the folder expiration date is set to one week from today’s date and the file retention policy is set to 30 days then the folders and all its contents will be deleted under the one week policy.
When moving files and folders, they will inherit the new parent/root level folder’s policy.
For example, if you move a file from your File Box into a folder with a retention policy of 90 days, then the file will inherit a expiration date of 90 days from its uploaded date.
When setting a new policy or changing a policy on an existing folder there will be an automatic 7 day warning.
For example, if you uploaded a file six months ago and today set a file retention policy for 30 days, then the file will be set to delete in 7 days to avoid any accidental deletions.
Will the File Retention Policy delete all subfolders?
No – the files contained within the folders will be removed, but the empty folder will remain. To have folders automatically removed, try using a Folder Expiration Date lower down in this article.
What happens to files removed by retention policy?
Files deleted by retention policy stay in recycle bin as per the account policy. It can take up to 48 hours for items to show up in Recycle Bin.
It is possible to customize the retention policy of the Personal Folders section of your account via the Edit Folder Options link. Any changes made to the File Retention policy of your Personal Folders will supersede account-wide File Retention policy settings. If you do not want your users to have this ability, please contact ShareFile Customer Support to have this setting disabled.