Article Contents (click a link to skip to that section)
- Email with ShareFile
- To send a file stored on your computer using ShareFile
- To send a file stored in your account using ShareFile
- Customize Your Message Before Sending
- What Your Recipient Sees
- I’m a client receiving a file request. What do I do?
- I closed the window before setting my password. How should I proceed now?
- Why do I have multiple emails with activation codes? Which one should I use?
- If you would like to send more than 216 items, try Adding a User to Your Folder instead!
Email with ShareFile allows you to send your file(s) via ShareFile’s email system. With this method, the recipient receives an email message containing a secure link to download the file(s). You can send a file stored on your account, or send a file stored on your computer.
Click Share Files on the Dashboard.
Note: This method requires File Box access.
Right-click the file and choose the Share option.
Open the file with the Content Viewer and choose a Share option
New ShareFile Users – Email with ShareFile
- Enter a Recipient for your message. You can enter an email address manually, or select users from your address books or distribution groups.
- Enter a Subject for your message. You may enter additional text in the Body of your message if needed.
- Edit Message Options allows you to customize the following:
- Send me a copy of this email – Receive a copy of the email message
- Email me when files are accessed – Receive a notification email when the file is Viewed or Downloaded
- Encrypt message – This feature is only available to users with Encrypted Email enabled.
- Require recipients to log in – Require that recipients log in with their ShareFile account. If your recipient is not already a user on your account, they will be required to create a username and password before accessing the file.
- Access expires – Set how long you want the download link to be accessible. If sending a file stored on your computer, this will default to the default length of time files may remain in the File Box
- Allow Recipients To – This option is available to users utilizing View-Only or IRM-protected sharing features.
- Accesses per user – Limit the number of views or downloads
- Always link to the latest version of the file – This feature is only available to users with File Versioning enabled.
- Remember subject and custom message for next time – Save the subject and custom message so that it will be preset the next time you send a file.
- Add More allows you to select additional files to include with your message.
- If sending files stored on your computer, a copy of the file will automatically be uploaded to your File Box.
- If adding from ShareFile, use the folder tree menu to select which files to add.
- Click Send when ready. You will receive confirmation that the message was sent successfully. If sending files stored on your computer, the file will not send until the file is uploaded to your File Box. Please do not exit the menu until the success message is shown.
If you wish to expire a link after it has been sent you can do so from the Sent Messages in the Inbox of your account.
The recipient will receive an email from “firstname.lastname@example.org” on behalf of the the ShareFile user that sent the message. Your recipient can then click the provided link to access the files.
When a ShareFile user sends you a Share a File link with the “Require User to Login” option checked, you will be asked to create a ShareFile account in order to access the link you have received. If the ShareFile user sent you a file request via the ShareFile Email System, you will receive an email with a link, as shown below.
- Click the link to activate your account.
- Before you can upload files, you must set a password for your account. For security reasons, please do not close the browser window or navigate away from this page until you have configured your password. If the ShareFile user does not permit users to set their own passwords, your password will be displayed here.
- Once you have set your password and clicked Save, you can upload files.
Don’t worry. Simply return to the original email message and click on the link again. Instead of a password configuration page, you will be sent a new email message. Check your Inbox for a new email message containing an activation code. This code must be entered in the field shown above within one hour.
- The first time you click the link in your message, you will be taken to the password configuration page shown further up in this section.
- If you clicked the link but then didn’t finish setting your password information, an activation code will be generated every time you click the link in the original email message.
- In order to verify your account, you must use the most recent activation code in your Inbox.