How to Use VPX Check-In/Check-Out Licenses for Auto-Provisioning of VPX in NSX Environment

Step 1: Login to MAS and go to Networks > Licenses > select Upload licenses file from a local computer if you have license file or select Use license access code if you have access codes. Below steps are shown for “upload license files from a local computer”.

User-added image

Step 2: Click Browse button and upload the license file and click Finish button.

User-added image

Step 3: Verify the entry of the license file upload and “VPX licenses” appear under licenses

User-added image

Step 4: Click on the VPX licenses to see the available and used VPX licenses.

User-added image

Step 5: Go to Orchestration > SDN Orchestration > VMware NSX manager > Service Packages, click Add to create a service package and select the licenses from the drop-down.

User-added image

User-added image

When this service package is used in NSX to provision a VPX, VPX will know that the MAS is the license server and will check-out the license specified in the service package, when it gets de-provisioned it checks back the license to MAS.

Related:

Displaying or Releasing Licenses for Users or Devices on Windows License Server

Some licensing tasks can be performed by using commands. You might use license administration commands when performing advanced operations on the license server that are not available in the console. Such operations include diagnosing check-out problems using lmdiag.

For more information, please refer to Citrix Docs .

Related:

Citrix Director Displays “In Supplemental Grace Period Time until grace expires”

The site went over the number of licenses about 9 days ago which triggered the Supplemental Grace Period.

According to the Citrix Documentation: https://docs.citrix.com/en-us/licensing/11-14/technical-overview.html

“If all licenses are in use, the supplemental grace period enables users to connect to a product for a limited period of time allowing you to address the issue. The default supplemental grace period is 15 days. During this period there is no limit on connections. After it expires, normal (to the extent of license availability) connection limits are enforced. Users are not disconnected, but as they disconnect, no new connections occur until license levels return to normal. Supplemental grace periods are granted per product and edition and per Subscription Advantage Eligibility date (per product) and only for Retail licenses. For example, if you have two clients requesting XenDesktop Enterprise Concurrent, with different Subscription Advantage Eligibility dates, two supplemental grace periods are granted. Rearming the supplemental grace period – When you take corrective action (for example, installing an additional Retail license), the supplemental grace period is rearmed, and normal license limits are enforced again. If you take action while the supplemental grace period is in force, the License Server exits the supplemental grace period before rearming. When the supplemental grace period is rearmed, you can trigger a new 15 day supplemental grace period the next time you go over the license limit.”

So this behavior is normal and the only way to turn this off would be to follow –

1) Go To:C:Program Files (x86)CitrixLicensingMyFiles

2) Open the file: “CITRIX.opt” with Notepad.

3) At the bottom of that file, add

“#CITRIX SGPOFF”

4) Save

5) Restart all Citrix Services (or Reboot)

to remove supplemental all together or to add new license files.

It is worth noting that the Supplemental Grace Period is normal when a user goes over the allotted number of Citrix license. It is also normal for the error to show up in Director even after no SGP licenses are being used. The SGP is a one time grace period that last 15 days. After this there can be no more SGP licenses applied to uses but normal ICA licensing will occur. The idea is that you have 15 days to correct the issue before the SGP and only the SGP licenses expire. The only way to rearm is to buy more.

Related:

Citrix Cloud License Usage Release assigned licenses

Release assigned licenses

An assigned license is eligible for release if the user hasn’t used the cloud service for 30 consecutive days. For the Virtual Apps and Desktops service, you can release licenses for users who haven’t launched an app or a desktop in the last 30 days. After a user’s license is released, the user can acquire another license by logging in and using the cloud service.

On the License Usage Details page, the user list displays clickable ellipsis buttons for users with licenses eligible for release. The ellipsis button is inactive for users who have used the cloud service in the last 30 days. When a license is released, the number of remaining licenses increases and the number of assigned licenses decreases accordingly.

To release assigned licenses

  1. On the License Usage Details page, scroll to the user list.
  2. To release a license for an individual user:
    1. Locate the user you want to manage.
    2. Click the ellipsis button and select Release User.
  3. To release multiple users in bulk:
    1. Click Release Users. A list appears, displaying all the users with licenses that can be released.
    2. Select the users you want to manage and click Continue.
  4. When prompted to confirm the release, click Release.

Related:

Error “The Customer Success Services expiry date in your license does not support this product version….. License Server and connections cannot be made.

1. How to Check Maintenance Program Expiration Dates:

To check current expiration dates using My Account, log on to My Account and complete one of the following procedures:

  1. From the Dashboard, select Renew and Manage Maintenance Programs.
  2. ​At the top of page, select Manage Renewal Contacts.
    • ​All current expiration dates are displayed in the Current Expiration column. Scroll down to view warranty and maintenance dates.
  3. Or, click View Certificates hyperlink
    • Select View Certificates and dates will be displayed
  4. Or,​ select the Overviewhyperlink, click LaunchDigital Online Transaction Interface button.

2. How to Reallocate a License File:

Instructions

To reallocate licenses using Licensing, complete the following procedure:

  1. Go to My Account and log on.

  2. Navigate to Licensing.

  3. Select All Licensing Tools.

  4. Click Reallocate toolbox.

    Note: You can also click the Reallocate tab available at the top of each page.

  5. Select the required licenses from the list and click Continue.

  6. Enter the following details in the configuration page and click Continue.

    1. Host ID Type – Select the appropriate Host ID type. Host ID type include hostname, IP address, MAC address, and fully qualified domain name.
    2. Host ID – Update the Host ID.
    3. Quantity/Available – If this is a partial reallocation, update this field. Enter the quantity of license you might allocate.

      Note: Some licenses do not allow partial allocation. In such scenarios, the Quantity/Available field cannot be edited.
  7. Click Confirm.

    Note: You can click Back, if you want to make any modifications in the Configuration page.

  8. Click OK.

    Note: You must manually remove the old license files from the license server.

  9. Select the required License file and click Download.

    Note: You can view the licenses that are allocated By Host, By Allocation, or by licenses that are recently renewed in the last 30 days.

  • In the By Host tab, you can view all the allocated licenses with License Server host.

  • In the By Allocation tab, you can view all allocations with license access code.

  • In the Recently Renewed tab, you can view all allocations that were renewed in the last 30 days.

  1. Click Save, to save the file in the local directory.

3. Refresh Studio and there will no longer be an error.

Related:

How to display or release licenses for users or devices by using udadmin in Citrix License Server

While the License Administration Console provides an easy method of accessing many licensing features, you can also perform licensing tasks using commands. You might use license administration commands when performing advanced operations on the license server that are not available in the console. Such operations include diagnosing check-out problems using lmdiag.

For more information, please refer to Citrix Docs .

Related: