Q: What are the Shared and Personal Address Books?
A: The Shared Address Book is available to employee users on the account so that they may quickly and easily pull up contact information for users on the account. The Personal Address Book is available for employee users on the account to create and manage a private list of users.
Q: Who sees users in the Share and Personal AddressBooks?
A: The Shared Address Book is available to all employee users on the account. Permissions to edit the Shared Address Book are set by the account Admin.
Personal Address Book is only visible to the individual user currently logged in. Each employee has their own Personal Address Book.
Q: Who can add/remove users to the Shared and Personal Address Books?
A: Adding and removing users on the Shared Address Book is determined by the permission set by the account Admin. A user may have the ability to add or remove if they are provided the Edit Shared Address Book permission. For more information on how to manage user permissions, click here.
Adding and removing Personal Address Book entries can only be done by the individual user on the Personal Address Book page.
Q: What if I want to completely remove a user from the system?
A: Removing a user from either the Shared or Personal Address Books does not remove a user from the account.
To completely remove a user from the system, you will need to be an admin member with permissions to Manage clients to remove client users, and/or Manage employees to remove employee users from the system. For more information on how to manage user permissions, click here.
Q: Is there a way to restrict access to the Shared Address Book or Distribution Groups?
A: It is not possible to deny access to these areas of an account. They will be visible to all employee users.
Q: But what if I don’t want users to be able to change the information in the Shared Address Book?
A: Employee users cannot edit the Shared Address Book unless they have been granted the Edit Shared Address Book permission. Also users cannot change change individual user permissions without permissions to Manage Clients or Manage Employees.
Q: Why can’t I find a Distribution Group created by an Employee user when I’m an administrator?
A: The creator of a distribution group needs to select Share this distribution group with all employees in order for other users to have access.
Q: How can I create a Shared Distribution Group without the ability for other users to edit the group?
A: If you share a distribution group with all employee users, any employee with the admin permission for Edit other users’ shared distribution groups will be able to edit the group.