How to install and use ShareFile Sync for Mac

As of February 14, 2020 ShareFile Sync for Mac up to version 3.0 will begin deprecation.

The upgrade path is to update the tool to Citrix Files for Mac.

Please visit the Citrix Product Matrix for more information on Citrix Product Lifecycles.

Deprecation may take several weeks to complete and the tool may still be temporarily available for some users during this process.

Already installed Sync for Mac? Click here to check out the user guide!

Supported Localization: English, Spanish, German, French, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Korean, Dutch, Russian and Portuguese.

Limitations (the following actions are not supported):

  • Syncing to a network drive
  • Creating a network drive out of a ShareFile folder
  • Mapping a folder inside the ShareFile sync folder
  • Syncing to a public folder that is shared on your network
  • Non-admin installations are currently not supported
  • ShareFile recommends adhering to a file path limit of no longer than 180 characters. Please shorten the path name by renaming its folders or in the case of Shared Folders, by only selecting the specific shared folders for synchronization instead of the root of the shared folder.

System Requirements

  • 10.10 Yosemite or later
  • High Sierra support requires Sync for Mac v 2.9.116.1 or later


Install ShareFile Sync for Mac

To download the sync tool, log in to your ShareFile account, click Apps in the navigation bar and then locate Sync for Mac. Click the Download button to download the installation file. Once the installation file has been downloaded, double-click the installation file. First, double-click the ShareFile icon to begin installation.

You will be prompted to enter the email address associated with your ShareFile account. You may also select additional folders to sync. Use the folder tree to select which files within your Personal Folders to sync. (You can modify which folders you wish to sync later in the Sync Preferences.

Note: Removing a folder from your list of synced items will move that content to your computer’s Recycle Bin.

User-added image

User-added image

Setting the sync location

To change the sync location on your Mac, access the Dashboard then select Preferences.

User-added image

Access the folder location beneath Sync Location in order to change it. Please note that in order to change the sync location, the destination you select must be an empty folder.

User-added image

Customizing sync access

Support for selective enablement of the sync tool allows you to limit access to specified users, typically those with managed or corporate devices. This feature is only available to Enterprise plans.

To use this feature with a ShareFile account that has the sync tool access set to Disabled, you must specify a custom key that is generated by your ShareFile administrator. ShareFile administrators can set this key by clicking Admin in the top navigation bar of their ShareFile account and then selecting Power Tools in the sidebar.

Under Sync, administrators can select Disabled to enter a custom 256-bit key.

On ShareFile Sync for Mac, this generated key must be added via Terminal.

To do so, run the following command, inserting the Generated Key where indicated:

  • defaults write com.citrix.sharefileFL.SFSyncEngine CustomSharedKey <EnterGeneratedKeyHere>

Additional Notes

Citrix ShareFile Sync for Mac supports StorageZones. (Restricted Zones are not supported).

This tool auto-updates. It will check for updates every day, and will only prompt for an administrator’s password when certain files that require system changes are updated. The auto-update feature can be disabled for an account by contacting ShareFile Support.


Unlink Your Account

To unlink your account, click the Unlink button in the upper right when viewing the Preferences menu.


Uninstall Sync for Mac

ShareFile recommends the following for Advanced Users. If you have a significantly large amount of data stored with your ShareFile Sync for Mac app, please consult your ShareFile Administrator prior to completely uninstalling the app.

Sync for Mac installations include an “uninstallSync.sh” file. To perform a clean uninstall of Sync for Mac:

  1. Exit Sync for Mac
  2. Run the following command in Terminal.
  • sh /Applications/ShareFile.app/Contents/uninstallSync.sh

Related:

Leave a Reply