ShareFile Sync – Extra 'New Folder' created from File Explorer

Why does ShareFile have an additional “New Folder” created when creating and renaming a new folder via File Explorer?

For accounts that have requested the “Creator Can Delete” setting disabled, when a user without the Delete permission on a folder creates a new folder within the File Explorer window, an additional “New Folder” is created. This behavior is a byproduct of how the sync app communicates the folder Rename action to the ShareFile account when a user that cannot delete attempts to rename the new folder. To avoid this behavior, consider creating new folders locally before adding them to the desired location within Sync, so they may be treated as an upload by the system.

Related:

Leave a Reply