Create a folder to organize your files. You have granular control of who can access files stored in a given folder, including the ability to control download and upload permissions.
In order to create a subfolder, you must have upload permissions in the parent folder. To create a folder:
- Start from the top level folder you would like to create the new folder under. (Example: Shared Folders or Personal Folders).
- Access the blue Action Button and select Create Folder.
- Enter a folder name and optional description.
- If you would like to allow other users to access this folder with specific permissions, click the checkbox for Add People to Folder. Leave this box unchecked if you do not wish to add users at this time, or if you plan to add users at a later date.
- Click Create Folder.
- To create a subfolder, repeat the above steps.
Folder Creator vs Folder Owner
The user that creates a folder is listed as the Creator of the folder. This information is visible as a column in list view and on hover in gallery view.
Usually the creator of a folder is also the Owner of the folder. However, if the creator of a folder has been removed as a user, their items can be reassigned to another user and the folder owner will be updated.
If you have Admin permissions on the folder, you can view all users on the folder and see who the owner is by clicking on the “People on this Folder” tab under the folder name.
Edit Advanced Folder Settings
Folder options can be access in the More Options menu under Edit Advanced Folder Settings when viewing a folder. These settings are only available to users who have Admin permissions on the folder.
File versioning allows you to hold previous revisions of a file after the file has been changed or updated. When a new copy of a file is uploaded, the older version will be kept available for download.
By default, a new folder will use the Account-Wide default for file versioning. If you wish to set a specific file versioning policy for a folder, select to enable file versioning and then set the max versions limit. You can also choose to disable file versioning for a folder. If you want to apply the new policy to subfolder, be sure to select Apply to existing Subfolders. Click save to save changes.
The File Retention Policy determines how long files are retained in a specific folder. The file retention policy applies to the folder and it’s subfolders.
Account-wide default file retention settings can be configured by an Admin in Citrix Cloud under the Content Collaboration Advanced Preferences menu.
Will I be notified before my policy deletes my files?
Before files or folders are removed, a warning message is shown in the following locations:
Retention Policy FAQ
If you set both a folder expiration date and a file retention policy, the most restrictive policy will take effect.
For example, if the folder expiration date is set to one week from today’s date and the file retention policy is set to 30 days then the folders and all its contents will be deleted under the one week policy.
When moving files and folders, they will inherit the new parent/root level folder’s policy.
For example, if you move a file from a folder with a 30 day file retention policy into a folder with a retention policy of 90 days, then the file will inherit a expiration date of 90 days from its uploaded date.
When setting a new policy or changing a policy on an existing folder there will be an automatic 7 day warning.
For example, if you uploaded a file six months ago and today set a file retention policy for 30 days, then the file will be set to delete in 7 days to avoid any accidental deletions.
Will the File Retention Policy delete all subfolders?
No – the files contained within the folders will be removed, but the empty folder will remain. To have folders automatically removed, try using a Folder Expiration Date lower down in this article.
What happens to files removed by retention policy?
Files and folders deleted by a retention policy are permanently removed. Files removed by retention policy cannot be restored from the Recycle Bin.
It is possible to customize the retention policy of the Personal Folders section of your account via the Edit Folder Options link. Any changes made to the File Retention policy of your Personal Folders will supersede account-wide File Retention policy settings. If you do not want your users to have this ability, please contact Citrix Files Customer Support to have this setting disabled.
NOTE: Items deleted via Expiration Policy cannot be restored from the Recycle Bin.
To set a specific date on which a folder and all files and subfolders contained within it are deleted:
- Access the folder you wish to delete.
- Access More Options beside the folder name and select Edit Advanced Folder Settings.
- Under Folder Expiration Date, use the calendar or date format to specify the expiration date.
Files can be sorted by clicking on any header within the folder. The options are by Name, Size, Uploaded (date), or Creator. Folder Administrators can change the default sort order in the Edit Advanced Folder Settings menu. Account-wide sorting defaults can be configured by an Admin in Citrix Cloud under the Content Collaboration Advanced Preference menu.